The Lies I Tell: A Novel (Paperback)

The Lies I Tell: A Novel By Julie Clark Cover Image

The Lies I Tell: A Novel (Paperback)

$16.99


On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Nov 29 6:43am
(Hor.Myst. Thriller)

July 2022 Indie Next List


“Kat Roberts has waited a decade to expose con artist Meg Williams. Now she finally has the chance...The Lies I Tell is a masterful tale. The characters are so well written, the plot smart and fast moving. This is definitely not one to miss!”
— Rebecca Minnock, Murder By the Book, Houston, TX

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER from the author of The Last Flight. A twisted con-woman thriller about two women out for revenge—or is it justice?

?"A mindbender." –Jessica Knoll

"Riveting…a winner." –Laura Dave

"A knockout." –Mary Kubica

Two women. Many aliases.

Meg Williams. Maggie Littleton. Melody Wilde. Different names for the same person, depending on the town, depending on the job. She's a con artist who erases herself to become whoever you need her to be—a college student. A life coach. A real estate agent. Nothing about her is real. She slides alongside you and tells you exactly what you need to hear, and by the time she's done, you've likely lost everything.

Kat Roberts has been waiting ten years for the woman who upended her life to return. And now that she has, Kat is determined to be the one to expose her. But as the two women grow closer, Kat's long-held assumptions begin to crumble, leaving Kat to wonder who Meg's true target is.

The Lies I Tell is a twisted domestic thriller that dives deep into the psyches and motivations of two women and their unwavering quest to seek justice for the past and rewrite the future.

Praise for The Last Flight by Julie Clark:

"Thoroughly absorbing…the characters get under your skin." —The New York Times

"Highly thrilling." —Entertainment Weekly

"You won't be able to put it down." —People.com

Julie Clark is the New York Times bestselling author of The Lies I Tell and The Last Flight, both of which were also #1 international bestsellers and have been translated into more than twenty-five languages. She lives in Los Angeles with her family and a goldendoodle with poor impulse control.

Product Details ISBN: 9781728260129
ISBN-10: 1728260124
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English

As recommended by Goodreads, BuzzFeed, POPSUGAR, Parade, E! Online, CrimeReads, Apartment Therapy, Scary Mommy, Motherly, and more!



"A meticulously plotted mindbender, with a last page I can only describe as a triumph. Do not miss it." — Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive

"Julie Clark has done it again! In her latest riveting domestic thriller, Clark takes you straight into the collision course of two dynamic, complicated women—who will go to any length to fix their past and find their way to a different future. The Lies I Tell is a winner!" — Laura Dave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me

"The Lies I Tell is a knockout. Smart, savvy and so duplicitous with a propulsive storyline and two of the most beguiling female characters I’ve ever met. Julie Clark does it again!" — Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing

"Clark knocks it out of the park with The Lies I Tell. A modern-day Robin Hood with a feminist twist. This is one of the best books you’ll read this year. Unputdownable!" — Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

"The Lies I Tell is a uniquely riveting cat and mouse game with two artfully nuanced female protagonists that is at once a razor-sharp, page-turning mystery and a brilliant, thought-provoking exploration of what it truly means to do good in the world." — Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of A Good Marriage and Friends like These

"Another terrific nail-biter by Julie Clark. The Lies I Tell weaves together the stories of two strong, complicated women: a brilliant con artist, and the journalist determined to unmask her. Fast-paced and beautifully plotted." — Sarah Pekkanen, co-author of The Golden Couple

"Clear your schedule to read The Lies I Tell because this book is nearly impossible to put down from the first page." — Associated Press

"The roller coaster story here, coupled with the fear and uncertainty endured by Kat as she learns to trust again only to be betrayed again, will stay with readers. And the facts of the various cons?this is virtually an instruction manual for fraud!?are fascinating. For those who like a story in which women fight back." — First Clue, STARRED review

"Will send chills down your spine." — Motherly, The Buzziest Books of 2022 So Far

"A gripping, immersive, downright triumphant revenge thriller...this book is so incredibly engaging and immersive, and I loved following the dangerous dance that develops between these two women. Driven by two complex, vividly-crafted female protagonists, The Lies I Tell draws readers into a thrilling web of deceit and revenge." — Crime By The Book

"An electrifying cat-and-mouse story." — Apartment Therapy

"Intriguing…Clark skillfully fleshes out the strong, multifaceted characters. The story nicely mixes brisk plot points with slow burning reveals as it builds to a satisfying conclusion. Clark doesn’t disappoint." — Publishers Weekly

"Will twist readers through an intricate, domestic thriller as the two women’s lies unravel. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Belle, Alice Feeney, and Michael Robotham." — Library Journal

"Do you ever wish you could don the life of someone else? Take on another persona, temporarily change jobs, and towns? Best you add Julie Clark’s new psychological thriller to your summer TBR pile." — Scary Mommy, Our 17 Favorite Summer Books Picks To Read Poolside